print ""; Oath Taking of New Veterinarians | Philippine Veterinary Medical Association

Oath Taking of New Veterinarians


Last September 5, 2009, 192 successful Veterinary Medicine board examinees took their oath as new licensed Veterinarians and members of Philippine Veterinary Medical Association at the Centennial Hall of The Manila Hotel. Present during the ceremony were Dr. Abelardo Agulto, Chairman of the Board of Veterinary Medicine, together with board members Dr. Tomas Acorda and Dr. Lina Policarpio. Gracing the occasion were Dr. Teodulo Topacio (National Scientist) who delivered his keynote address and Dr. Angel Mateo (PRC Outstanding Professional in Veterinary Medicine 2009), who gave the inspirational talk to newly licensed veterinarians and members of Philippine Veterinary Medical Association. Also present during the ceremony were the National Officers of Philippine Veterinary Medical Association headed its President Dr. Manuel Carlos, Dr. Rustan Patacsil (Vice-President-President-Elect), Dr. Alice Layson (Treasurer), Dr. Jun Feranil (P.R.O.), Dr. Mark Paderes (Board of Director), Dr. Daniel Ventura (Board of Director), Dr. Rodel Brucal (Board of Director), Dr. Emmanuel Jamis (Immediate Past President), Dr. Robert Lo (PVMA Past President 2003-2004) and Dr. James Michael Cheng (PVMA Past President 2007-2008). The ceremony was also attended by Deans of different Veterinary Schools in the Philippines. University of the Philippines College of Veterinary Medicine represented by Dr. Conrado Valdez was awarded Top Performing School for 2009.

Angelo Caramba Lagahid of the Central Mindanao University, Annechellie Margallo Perez of the University of the Philippines – Los Baños, and Froiland Elegino Sanchez of the Visayas State College of Agriculture- Baybay led the list of passers with a common rating of 82.38 percent.
Others who garnered the 10 highest places were: Cindy Baculod Ocampo, De La Salle-Araneta University, Inc. (GAUF), 82.13; Annabelle Nalibsan Apse, UP-Los Baños, 81.50; Rachel Niña Guevarra Crystal, UP-Los Baños, 81.50; Maria Michaela Rose Basas Ponce, UP-Los Baños, 81.50; Audry Rose Rosales Gabonada, Central Mindanao University, 81.25; Jerilee Tamayo Peñalba, University of the Philippines-Los Baños, 81.25; Kenneth Figueroa Chua, GAUF, 81.00; Noemi Gerpacio Diloy, UP-Los Baños, 81.00; Christopher Ryan Monreal Astorga, Visayas State College of Agriculture-Baybay, 80.88; Rodrigo Jr. Tuscano Sunio, UP-Los Baños, 80.88; Remaur Suson Herrera, Southwestern University, 80.75; Cyril Lou Canillas Alburo, UP-Los Baños, 80.63; Jaypee Pumihic Culhi, Benguet State University-La Trinidad, 80.63; Cindy Della Balmelero, Central Luzon State University, 80.38; Lauren Togonon Arayan, UP-Los Baños, 80.13; Rodrigo Jr. Isoli Faeldo, GAUF, 80.13.